



15 June 2017

LGA Vice-Presidents 2017-18

Purpose of report

For discussion and endorsement.

Summary

This paper sets out those Members of the House of Commons, House of Lords and European Parliament that the LGA political groups, working with the Public Affairs team, will be inviting to be honorary Vice-Presidents for the 2017–18 parliamentary session. In line with the LGA Constitution, each Political Group Office has the flexibility to update the appointments during the year as required.

Recommendation

That the LGA Leadership Board notes the appointments made by the Political Groups Offices.

Action

Agree appointments to be formally reported at the LGA General Assembly.

Contact officer: Lee Bruce

Position: Head of Public Affairs and Stakeholder Engagement

Phone no: 020 7664 3097

E-mail: lee.bruce@local.gov.uk

LGA Leadership Board

15 June 2017



LGA Vice-Presidents 2017–2018

Background

- Every year the LGA appoints Vice-Presidents to act as our advocates in Westminster and Brussels. Under the Constitution, Vice-Presidents are appointed throughout the year by the four LGA political groups and reported to the Annual LGA General Assembly. This paper summarises the list of appointments from each Political Group Office who have the flexibility to update the appointments during the year as required.
- 2. Vice-Presidents act as a first port of call, promoting the LGA by highlighting local government's priorities in debates, working to secure amendments to legislation, tabling parliamentary questions and motions, and by hosting events in Parliament. Their support protects and enhances the reputation of councils and enables us to pursue our campaigning objectives. Vice-Presidents usually have a strong background in local government and are committed to supporting LGA priorities in Westminster and Brussels.
- 3. We offer Vice-Presidents bespoke briefing notes and verbal briefings, use of LGA facilities, subscription to LGA bulletins and publications, free attendance to our conferences and speaking opportunities at LGA events.
- 4. Engagement with Vice-Presidents focuses around our corporate campaigns (actively seeking their support and involvement) and those pieces of legislation agreed to be a priority for LGA members by the Leadership Board at the start of each parliamentary session.
- 5. LGA Vice-Presidents receive the following benefits and support from the LGA:
 - 5.1. Tailored briefings to support LGA policy positions and corporate campaigns.
 - 5.2. Support in drafting questions, amendments to legislation and parliamentary motions.
 - 5.3. Complimentary use of LGA facilities including meeting rooms.
 - 5.4. Free attendance for Vice-Presidents and their staff at LGA conferences and events
 - 5.5. Opportunities to speak at LGA conferences and events.
 - 5.6. Opportunities to write for LGA publications.
 - 5.7. Complimentary subscription to *First* magazine.
 - 5.8. A weekly LGA Parliamentary e-bulletin (when Parliament is sitting).
 - 5.9. Opportunity to subscribe to the daily LGA news headlines e-bulletin.
 - 5.10. Invitations to LGA events in Parliament, including our annual reception, and regular bespoke Vice-Presidents' events.
 - 5.11. Access to LG Inform.

LGA Leadership Board

15 June 2017



Proposed Vice-Presidents for 2017–18

6. Each of the LGA's political groups can appoint Vice-Presidents who are currently elected members of the UK and European Parliament, throughout the year. Set out below are the Vice-President nominations for 2017/18:

Conservative

- 1. Charles Walker MP (Broxbourne)
- 2. Margot James MP (Stourbridge)
- 3. Andrea Jenkyns MP (Morley and Outwood)
- 4. Bob Blackman MP (Harrow East)
- 5. Andrew Lewer MP (Northampton South)
- 6. Lord Whitby
- 7. Lord True
- 8. Baroness Eaton
- 9. Baroness Scott of Bybrook
- 10. Julie Girling MEP (South West)

Labour

- 1. Clive Betts MP (Sheffield South East)
- 2. Catherine McKinnell MP (Newcastle upon Tyne North)
- 3. Steve Reed MP (Croydon North)
- 4. Wes Streeting MP (Ilford North)
- 5. Catherine West MP (Hornsey and Wood Green)
- 6. John Healey MP (Wentworth and Dearne)
- 7. Angela Rayner MP (Ashton-under-Lyne)
- 8. Jim McMahon MP (Oldham West and Royton)
- 9. Meg Hillier MP (Hackney South and Shoreditch)
- 10. Lord Beecham
- 11. Lord Kennedy of Southwark
- 12. Baroness Smith of Basildon, Leader in the Lords
- 13. Lord Smith of Leigh
- 14. Lord Whitty
- 15. Dame Glenis Willmott MEP (East Midlands)
- 16. Derek Vaughan MEP (Wales)

Liberal Democrats

- 1. Tim Farron MP (Westmorland and Lonsdale)
- 2. Norman Lamb MP (North Norfolk)
- 3. Layley Moran MP (Oxford West and Abingdon)
- 4. Wera Hobhouse MP (Bath)
- Lord Tope
- 6. Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville

LGA Leadership Board

15 June 2017



- 7. Baroness Janke
- 8. Baroness Maddock
- 9. Baroness Scott of Needham Market
- 10. Lord Shipley
- 11. Baroness Pinnock
- 12. Baroness Thornhill
- 13. Baroness Brinton
- 14. Lord Storey
- 15. Lord Scriven
- 16. Catherine Bearder MEP (South East England)

Independent Group

- 1. Liz Saville-Roberts MP (Plaid Cymru, Dwyfor Meirionnydd)
- 2. Caroline Lucas MP (Green, Brighton Pavillion)
- 3. Lord Best (crossbench)
- 4. Lord Adebowale (crossbench)
- 5. Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (Green)
- 6. Earl of Lytton (crossbench)
- 7. Earl of Listowel (crossbench)
- 8. Baroness Howarth of Breckland (crossbench)
- 9. Baroness Greengross (crossbench)
- 10. Baroness Grey-Thompson (crossbench)
- 11. Lord Bichard (crossbench)
- 12. Lord O'Neill of Gatley (crossbench)
- 13. Lord Wigley (Plaid Cymru)
- 14. Patrick O'Flynn MEP (UKIP, Eastern England)
- 15. Keith Taylor MEP (Green, South East)

Code of Conduct

7. The LGA President and Vice-Presidents are required to operate in accordance with the Code of Conduct for Members of the House of Lords, House of Commons, and European Parliament. This is made clear in the invitations to new Vice-Presidents and will be referenced in letters to those Vice-Presidents whose role is being renewed for a further year.

Financial Implications

8. There are no financial implications to this paper.